Casting A Spell
Magic Dice
Instead of spell slots, spells of all kinds are cast with MD. Casters get one d6 MD per level. When casting a spell, roll at least one MD . On a roll of 4-6, the MD is not expended and can be used again that day. Spells of a higher level don't cost any extra MD, but they do take longer to cast (-1 initiative for every spell level past 1). MD replenish when you get a good night's rest.
Exceptions
There are two times where MD is not needed to cast:
- when casting a #cantrip
- when accepting a Mishap roll, see Magical Mishaps
Additional MD
When casting a spell, decide how many of your available MD to put into the spell. Using additional MD can increase the effect of the spell and make it more likely an important spell is actually cast.
Magical Mishaps
Magic is dangerous business, but desperate times call for desperate measures, and sometimes wizardly folk just can't help pushing their luck. Once a day, a PC can cast a spell when they have already exhausted their MD if they accept a roll on the Magical Mishaps table. Any other circumstance where a caster is ruled to be attempting a risky-but-interesting thing (ex: casting an improvised spell) will also require a Mishap roll.
In Combat
Concentration
If a spellcaster takes damage while casting, or when trying to maintain certain spell effects, they have to check Concentration.
-
If you fail and have multiple MD in the spell, you can burn one of the additional MD to continue casting the spell. The burned MD is lost for the day. This can be done multiple times, but there must always be at least one MD available or the spell is lost.
-
If you fail a Concentration skill check and only have one MD, you lose the MD for the day and the spell is interrupted.
Declaration
During combat, spells must be declared before Initiative is rolled. A spellcaster cannot be in melee when they declare their spell, and they can't move or do anything else on their turn when casting.
Casting Before Combat
A caster may decide to ready a spell before combat breaks out, in which case the spell can be cast on their turn without declaring and they get their normal actions (including deciding to cast another spell). This is risky since any damage or anything else that might break Concentration risks losing the MD before combat even starts.